Tuesday Hometown Tourist—Part 20–Epilogue

This is the conclusion of the Tuesday Hometown Tourist series. The past twenty weeks have been spent viewing my community through the eyes and the heart of a tourist. On Tuesdays I wrote about these experiences. My stories are not reviews or critiques. I told tales of treating local events as if I were on a vacation. I made a commitment to have a story ready each Tuesday.

My love for gardens and nature brought me to the Orchid Farm, Clovers, Lilacia Park, Farmer’s Market, and Westmore Woods. I visited the Historical society for a presentation about bees, butterflies, and birds. Cantigny had a fabulous exhibit of wood carvings. The VA participated in an annual art exhibit. Our community opened a new library. These events became my stories.

Local small businesses remained important to me during my tourist experience. This included the local book and record store. I enjoyed refreshments at the coffee shop, bakery, Dairy Queen, pretzel shop, and Rosemary and Jean’s Public House. Good times happened at Cruise Nights and Summer Concerts.

Some of my tourist experiences occurred at home. These stories were about Fourth of July, caterpillars, and my home garden. All of my experiences were about the joys of being mindful of my surroundings. I am concluding this series. I am pleased to see that I had world wide readers. I will continue to publish, but without my Tuesday commitment.

This series was inspired by feelings of gratitude for plasma and blood donors. Currently I receive IVIG infusions monthly to treat my Myasthenia Gravis symptoms. There have been long periods of time when I was too sick to participate in the activities that I have recently described. There is no cure for MG, but there is treatment. I made social media posts about the infusions and other treatments. It is important to me to recognize what I am currently able to do in between treatments. Some of my excursions were brief. All were close to home. Sometimes I did not have the strength to get up and go. Those were the Tuesday’s that I used my grateful attitude at home. I felt joy by being mindful of my surroundings. All of my WordPress writings remain available at jeriaielloart.wordpress.com. Thank you for joining me on my Tuesday Hometown Tourist journey.

Leave a comment